Endless Love

“I’ve just realised a sad thing,” I say to Mum. We’re in the car on the way to the gym.
“What is it, sweetie?” Mum says.
“Well, the thing is: Seb is away for the rest of the year doing his course, and then he’s going to study Ecology somewhere for three years and then he wants to go and live in a cave in Scotland or somewhere without me. I’ll probably be dead by the time he’s finished all that,” I say. “Oh look: wagtail.” A grey wagtail is bobbing up and down as he walks along the grass verge.
“Yes darling,” Mum says. “Seb is very fond of you, but he isn’t planning a future with you. You may want to spend the rest of your life with him, but he doesn’t want that responsibility and…”
“I have been trying to meet other boys,” I say. “I just prefer him.”
“I know, darling,” Mum says, “and he is obviously cares about you a lot. You just have to enjoy the time you spend with him, without planning a future together.”
“I do,” I say. “I’d like to see him a bit more often though.”
“I dare say,” Mum says.
Turning away from Mum, I look out of the window so she can’t see that I’m crying…

2 thoughts on “Endless Love

  1. I know the feeling. I was in a long distance relationship for about a year after being in a relationship with my boyfriend for three years. In our case I was the one that told him not to move country for me, because although I want to be with him, I don’t feel ready for that step and I didn’t think it was fair on him.

    Sometimes it is not people’s fault, it is just the situation. I always had people saying enjoy the time you have together, but the uncertainty made me over analyse things constantly. I hope you two manage to work things out. If he is not planning a future with you it may not mean that he doesn’t want a future with you, it may just mean that he is not ready yet.

    Like

Leave a Reply

