Love Story, With Murders*

“I love you,” I say to Seb, expecting no answer.  After all, I tell him that I love him about a hundred times an hour when we’re together.

“I love you,” he says.  He’s never said this before.  He mumbles it into my neck but that’s what I think I hear.

“Do you?” I say, sitting up, looking in to his turquoise eyes.

“I love you,” he says.  “I missed you.  It’s a weird feeling for me.  I’ve never missed someone like that before.”  He looks so serious suddenly, his eyes lit up, an expression of the utmost gravity on his face.

Sitting up, looking at him, I say “really?”  I can’t believe it.

“Yes, I love you,” he says, putting his strong, tanned arm round me, pulling me towards him.  Nestling my face into his chest, I rest next to him, feeling the warmth from his body.  He smells nice: shower gel, aftershave.  He smells clean.

So there we go.  Took him ten years, but he’s now decided that he loves me.  Which is excellent.

Took me about a second, of course, to decide that I loved him.  As soon as he turned around in the street, ten years ago, that was it.  Love at first sight.  And, after ten years, he loves me.  Well done me.

So, dear reader, don’t give up.  Sometimes it takes a long time to get the person that you want.  But if you’ve got a spare ten years, it’s worth hanging in there.  Or something.

Just watching Foyle’s War and then am going to have a bath.  Then bed.  Tomorrow will attend gym and then visit my fluffy monster, embrace him and bury my face in his soft, orange fur.

Attached photo is some purple sprouting broccoli and a Romanesco cauliflower.  They ended up in an omelette and a stir fry.  But look at how beautiful they are.

Happy Saturday everyone!

*2014.  By Harry Bingham.  Police procedural detective fiction novel, starring Detective Constable Fiona Griffiths.

6 thoughts on “Love Story, With Murders*

Leave a Reply

