Love Story, With Murders*

“Hello,” Seb says.  It’s almost ten o’clock but my love is calling me!

“My darling,” I say.  “Hello.  I miss you.”

“Oh, my love, I miss you too,” he says.  “It’s difficult, finding a time to call and, well, I set an alarm and I fell asleep and…”

“I was worried that I hadn’t heard from you for ten days,” I say,  “and, I thought you’d been meditating a lot and realising that you didn’t want to be with me anymore or…”

“Not at all.  I’m sorry my love.  I have to walk to a special place where there’s a gap in the trees to get a signal, stepping over the scorpions and leeches and…I’m so sorry I haven’t been in touch,” he says.

“So what have you been doing?” I say.

“Well we planted some bodhi trees and I’ve just been eating one meal a day so I’ve lost a bit of weight,” he says.

Argh, I think.  Have been putting on weight.  Obviously need to eat one meal a day or…never mind.  It’s not going to happen.

We chat.  He still loves me.  Thank G-d.

Attached photo is a fuchsia near the flat.

Happy Monday everyone!
*2014.  By Harry Bingham.  Detective novel.

3 thoughts on “Love Story, With Murders*

Leave a Reply

