Dirty Laundry*

“Get out of bed and sort that washing out,” the panther says, breathing into my face.  His breath smells of rotten meat.

It’s 5.30pm and I’m trying, and failing to achieve my afternoon sleep.

“I’m not doing it,” I tell him. 

He looks appalled and turns away from me, waving his tail.  He gazes out of the window.  It’s raining.  It’s been pouring all day.

“I’m not doing it,” I repeat.  “It’s not just a matter of shoving it into the machine and switching it on, you know.  I’ll have to unload it and hang it up as well and I just can’t manage that today and…”

“You’re so lazy,” the panther says, stretching his whole self out next to me.  “Not to mention how fat you are and…”

“I’m ill,” I say.  “I’ve got to make supper and write my blog and that’s all I can manage today.  The washing can wait.”

“It’s no wonder that Seb has escaped to the other side of the world,” the panther says, resting his front paws across my legs.  “He just can’t stand how useless you are and…”

“Seb loves me,” I say.  “He sent me a message today and…”

“Once he’s out of that monastery he’ll find someone better,” the panther says.  

“I don’t have to listen to this,” I say, with more conviction than I feel.  

Anyway: somehow am going to haul myself out of bed and into the kitchen and make some supper.  The laundry can wait.

The attached photo is the fluffy monster.  Tomorrow am going to wrap my arms around him and cuddle him.

Happy Thursday everyone!
*2005.  By Paula L. Woods.  A Charlotte Justice detective novel.

9 thoughts on “Dirty Laundry*

  1. Enjoyed immensely! I noticed that you use a lot of tags. Just FYI, if you use more than 15 tags including categories WordPress voids them out as if you had no tags at all. That would explain why I cannot find you under those tags. Plus you need to eliminate # as WP doesn’t recognize. I just entered a tag search for several of your tags and they are unrecognized. This labels your posts as if they had no tags at all. Just thought you would want to know. Danny

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

