The Devil You Know*

Waking up with a start, I realise that it’s five o’clock in the afternoon.  Seb will be here in a couple of hours – as long as he hasn’t missed his plane.

Had a bath and shaved all my furry bits this morning.  The house is clean and tidy.  Washed hair yesterday so not doing that again.

Before Seb arrives, need to:

1.  Put a wash on.  Will be able to put the airer in brother’s room, now that brother has moved Abroad again (sob, wail etc), so the living room won’t be dominated by the washing.

2.  Find something slimming to wear  – don’t seem to have lost a stone and it’s getting a bit late to expect it just to disappear now.

3.  Put on some make-up, and maybe even heels.

4.  Make a salad and The Omelette.

“He’ll take one look at you and scarper to the nearest monastery,” the panther says, staring at my tummy with huge amber eyes.

“It’ll be fine,” I say, stroking his head.  “He hasn’t seen a girl for a month – he’s not going to be fussy.”

“I wouldn’t bet on it,” the panther says.  “Seb will be appalled at your appearance.  I’ve never seen you looking this bad.”

“Shut up,” I say, turning away from him.  I’ve been feeling nauseous all day and this isn’t helping.  It’s going to be fine, I tell myself.  Am excited that I’m going to see my darling Seb.  It’s normal that am a bit nervous.  He’s been away for more than three weeks after all.

Sipping my water, I prepare to start my household tasks…

Attached photo is the fluffy monster this morning.

Happy Sunday everyone!
*2015.  By Elisabeth de Mariaffi.  Psychological thriller.

2 thoughts on “The Devil You Know*

Leave a Reply

