Murder Among Friends*

“I haven’t seen you for ages,” Suzie says when I answer the door, after we’ve had a hug.

“It’s only been a couple of weeks hasn’t it?”  I say.  “Sorry, darling, I was asleep.”  Didn’t make it to the door in time.

“Thought you probably were,” she says.  “Anyway – a couple of weeks is ages.  I missed you.”

“Missed you too darling,” I say.

We get back into my bed.  Just for a few minutes.  

“I’ve been to the new supermarket twice today already,” I tell her.  “I got some of those stuffed goat’s cheese pasta things that you like.”

“Oh good, can we have them?” Suzie says, smiling.

“Yes, of course,” I say.  “Haven’t written the blog yet though,” I say.  

“Well I’ll put the kettle on and you write the blog,” Suzie says.  “What have you been doing, anyway?”

“Well Seb was here,” I say.  “And before that I was away.”

“And I was away,” Suzie says.

“Exactly,” I say.  “Seb’s going to university on Sunday.  It’s so far away.”  After Sunday I’m all yours, I think.  Till Christmas at least.  Need to plan some fun things to do.

Can hear the sound of Suzie preparing things in the kitchen.  Had better go and help.

Attached photo is a Fiat Cinquecento who lives near the flat.

Happy Thursday everyone!
*1995.  By Jonnie Jacobs.  Book 2 in the Kate Austen mystery series.

Leave a Reply

