Sleepy Hollow*

“Hmmmm it’s a shame,” the doctor says, frowning, as he looks at my new mastectomy scar.  “It’s healed up well, apart from those corners.”

The ends of the scar are red, raised and oozing pus.

“So, I know it’s not terrible,” I say. “But I don’t see the plastic surgeon and the nurses till  Wednesday, and I hope that if I can start some antibiotics now – augmentin I was on in hospital so…”

“Yes, I’ll write you a script for some of that,” he says.  “That’s a good antibiotic.”

“So then it will be getting better by the time I see them on Wednesday,” I say.   “Oh, I’ll need something to treat the thrush which I’m bound to get from the antibiotics and…”

“Canesten pessaries alright?” He says, fountain pen poised above the pad.

“Yes, that’s fine,” I say.  “Thank you.  Oh, and I need some more codeine – my arm is hurting and…”

“Thirty milligrams?” He says.

“Yes, that’s right.  One tablet four times per day.  Thank you,” I say.

Walking home with my bag of pills, darkness falls.  It’s four o’clock in the afternoon.  

Have emailed my other gym (the one near the flat) to freeze my personal training for this month.  Am unlikely to make it back to the flat much before the end of January and am not up to weights at the moment.  Am upset that won’t be able to do any training for a while, but have my spinning.  

New spinning blog is here: 

http://www.rapidcyclistwordpresscom.wordpress.com 

Today’s gin drink for Ginuary was a gin and ginger wine cocktail of own invention.  It was OK.

The new War and Peace is a bit disappointing.  It could be Pride and Prejudice – stuffed full of Jim Broadbent, Gillian Anderson  and other such period-drama-stalwarts.   There is nothing foreign or exotic about it at all.  Wonder if this is deliberate: the two books are set in the same war in 1805 and so maybe Andrew Davies is making this adaptation like his Pride and Prejudice one on purpose…

Lily James is rubbish as Natasha.  The only ones who seem any good are James Norton as Prince Andrei – who looks just dreamy in his white breeches and navy coat with gold epaulettes and so on:

  

Also Paul Dano as Pierre, who has an appealing sweetness.  He seems so young though.  Remember reading the book for the first time when was about fifteen and Pierre and Andrei seemed so old.

Seb has lent me the twenty-part 1972-4 version which he says is wonderful.  Am going to watch that one.  It stars Anthony Hopkins as Pierre.

The attached photo is a tree, snapped on the way home this afternoon.  It reminds me of Sleepy Hollow.

Happy Monday everyone!
*1999.  Tim Burton film about the legend of Sleepy Hollow starring Johnny Depp as Ichabod Crane and Christina Ricci.

Leave a Reply

